Members Area
IITP Sites:   IITP Site|ITx 2016|TechBlog|ICT-Connect|NZ CloudCode|All Tech Events|Software Escrow NZ

IITP Excellence in IT Awards

The 2014 Excellence in IT Awards

The Institute of IT Professionals is pleased to announce the winners of the inaugural Excellence in IT Awards, recognising individuals and teams that have truly excelled in IT.

Winners were announced at the Excellence in IT Awards gala dinner at ITx on October 10, 2014.

ITx is New Zealand's conference of IT, the broadest independent IT conference in NZ, hosted by IITP, CITRENZ and CSANZ. More information about ITx.

View details of the 2014 winners here.


In association with:

awards_myob gold_senz
cat_iia cat_potentia cat_mbie cat_vector cat_datacom cat_markerstudio

Winners announced

Following a comprehensive judging process, the winners of the 2014 New Zealand Excellence in IT Awards were announced at a gala dinner on October 10th.

You can read all about the winners on the Winners page.

To view all the finalists, please see the Finalists page.


Recognising the people making IT happen

What makes the Excellence in IT Awards different is that it recognises the real people behind software and information technology - the people that make IT work.

While other awards programmes do an excellent job of recognising the companies and vendors who do great work, the Excellence Awards are focused squarely at the unsung heroes and champions of our sector.




Sector-wide Awards Collaboration

The Excellence in IT Awards are coordinated by IITP in partnership with a range of IT-related bodies. This is a true collaboration of 10 industry and professional bodies:

NZ Software AssociationProject Management InstituteGOVISInternetNZNZOSS



2014 Award Categories

The following are the categories for the 2014 Excellence in IT Awards. The Sector Awards represent excellence in each of five general sector categories and may change each year, with the Supreme Awards being awarded every year.

The Excellence in Open Source award will run every second year, in the alternate year from the NZ Open Source Awards (running in 2014).

See full details of categories on the Categories page.


Sector Awards

  • IT Project Excellence Award
  • Excellence in Software
  • Excellence in Health Informatics
  • Excellence in Public Sector IT
  • Excellence in IT Education


Supreme Awards

  • Internet Entrepreneur of the Year
  • Young IT Professional of the Year
  • IITP President’s Award for Contribution to the IT Profession
  • New Zealand IT Professional of the Year

See full details of categories on the Categories page.




The following draft timeline applies to the Awards:

  • 9 June – Categories announced
  • 13 June - Nominations and Expressions of Interest open
  • 25 July – Nominations close

  • 8 September – Finalists announced

  • 7 October – Finalists interviews day (Auckland)
  • 10 October – Awards Gala evening as part of ITx


Join IITP Login